TheSTN – Nine 2012 MLB All-Stars Among 30 Players Nominated For The 2012 Roberto Clemente Award

Fans can vote for the National Award Recipient on and register for a chance to win a trip to the 2012 World Series

Major League Baseball and Chevrolet, the official vehicle of Major League Baseball, announced the names of the 30 Club nominees, including nine 2012 MLB All-Stars, for the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet.  Today marks the eleventh annual Roberto Clemente Day, which was established by Major League Baseball to honor Clemente’s legacy and to officially recognize local Club nominees of the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet. The annual award recognizes a Major League Baseball player who best represents the game of baseball through positive contributions on and off the field, including sportsmanship and community involvement.

The Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet pays tribute to Clemente’s achievements and character by recognizing current players who truly understand the value of helping others. The award is named for the 15-time MLB All-Star and Hall of Famer who died in a plane crash on New Year’s Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua.

30 Club nominees of the 2012 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet

Arizona Diamondbacks – Willie Bloomquist Milwaukee Brewers – Rickie Weeks
Atlanta Braves – Tim Hudson Minnesota Twins – Justin Morneau
Baltimore Orioles – Jim Johnson* New York Mets – Johan Santana
Boston Red Sox – Jon Lester New York Yankees – Mark Teixeira
Chicago Cubs – David DeJesus Oakland Athletics – Brandon McCarthy
Chicago White Sox – Jake Peavy* Philadelphia Phillies – Jimmy Rollins
Cincinnati Reds – Todd Frazier Pittsburgh Pirates – Chris Resop
Cleveland Indians – Jason Kipnis St. Louis Cardinals – Matt Holliday*
Colorado Rockies – Michael Cuddyer San Diego Padres – Luke Gregerson
Detroit Tigers – Miguel Cabrera* San Francisco Giants – Matt Cain*
Houston Astros – Wesley Wright Seattle Mariners – Felix Hernandez*
Kansas City Royals – Alex Gordon Tampa Bay Rays – David Price*
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – C.J. Wilson Texas Rangers – Michael Young
Los Angeles Dodgers – Clayton Kershaw* Toronto Blue Jays – Ricky Romero
Miami Marlins – Logan Morrison Washington Nationals – Ryan Zimmerman

*2012 MLB All-Star

The distinguished list of past national Roberto Clemente Award recipients includes 14 members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame:

1971 – Willie Mays* 1985 – Don Baylor 1998 – Sammy Sosa
1972 – Brooks Robinson* 1986 – Garry Maddox 1999 – Tony Gwynn*
1973 – Al Kaline* 1987 – Rick Sutcliffe 2000 – Al Leiter
1974 – Willie Stargell* 1988 – Dale Murphy 2001 – Curt Schilling
1975 – Lou Brock* 1989 – Gary Carter* 2002 – Jim Thome
1976 – Pete Rose 1990 – Dave Stewart 2003 – Jamie Moyer
1977 – Rod Carew* 1991 – Harold Reynolds 2004 – Edgar Martinez
1978 – Greg Luzinski 1992 – Cal Ripken, Jr.* 2005 – John Smoltz
1979 – Andre Thornton 1993 – Barry Larkin 2006 – Carlos Delgado
1980 – Phil Niekro* 1994 – Dave Winfield* 2007 – Craig Biggio
1981 – Steve Garvey 1995 – Ozzie Smith* 2008 – Albert Pujols
1982 – Ken Singleton 1996 – Kirby Puckett* 2009 – Derek Jeter
1983 – Cecil Cooper 1997 – Eric Davis 2010 – Tim Wakefield
1984 – Ron Guidry 2011 – David Ortiz

*Member of the Baseball Hall of Fame

Fans are encouraged to participate in the process of selecting the national award recipient by visiting to vote for one of the 30 Club nominees. Participating fans will be automatically registered for a chance to win a trip to the 2012 World Series, where the national winner of the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet will be announced. Voting ends at 11:59 p.m. ET on Sunday, October 14th, and the winner of the fan poll will receive one vote among those cast by a selection panel.

All Clubs playing at home today will recognize their local nominees as part of Roberto Clemente Day ceremonies, while each visiting Club will honor its nominee before another September home game. As part of the league-wide celebration, the Roberto Clemente Day logo will appear on the bases and the official dugout lineup cards.

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *